There is something to be said for being a tourist. I know, I know its better to be immersed in the culture and you can't really do that with a fanny pack and a camera. You stick out, and people treat you like a tourist. But, on the other hand, there is almost always hot water and good food. For the last 10 days I traveled around the country with friends and family and we were all gringos. I have to tell you, for the most part I really enjoyed it. Cab drivers took us for all we were worth and sometimes they tried to kill us (or our luggage). But other than that I had a really good time. Honestly, I've never had so many scary cab rides in my life. There was the guy driving 100+ km/hr in the mountains, playing chicken with tour buses and passing on blind curves. There was the tiny Daewoo hatchback that tried to pile all of our luggage on the roof only to have one bag slide off and another nearly take of the passenger side mirror about halfway through the trip. There was also the guy in a car that looked and sounded like it was held together by duct tape who coasted into the gas station on fumes and then pulled into oncoming traffic to try to make a left turn. But all that was good fun. Machu Picchu is breathtaking, indescribable, too impressive for words. Cusco is exciting, has a great night life and an amazing history. Lima is still overcast and dreary, but does have one of the most unique malls I've ever seen (on the ocean, and yes there was a Hooters there). The sand dunes and oasis at Ica were beautiful and the wine and pisco were delicious. In short I had a great time - probably due to the company as much as anything. I'll try to put some pictures up sometime soon. I took way too many to put on here. I'm back in Chulucanas with some good news. My study has been approved. I'm not sure when I'll start data collection, probably on Monday or early next week. I think it will be sort of tough (read: impossible) to finish up 300 interviews in 2 weeks or so, but that is life. I'll get as many as I can. Also I'm coming home a few days early so that is good. I'm ready to come home. I'm sure the last few weeks will fly by and I'll miss it and wish I'd had more time but right now I just want to be back in the states.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment